RSS Feed

Buncha pennies on a keychain

StamP Y0ur Luck

LUckY PennieS

Handle With (arePennY KeYChain

Up Up Must Have Been Lucky

We all stumble on that penny when walking through a store, or down a street. What if all those pennies are really lucky? This is part 1 of my penny project series. Today I paid my sister one quarter for her 24 pennies (i was ripped off…) and i took it upon myself to start the penny project.

I have a few penny projects that I will be completing over the next few weeks and here the first one!

You will need:

A metal letter stamp kit, like this one

Pennies, and lots of them

Drill with a 5/64 bit

Scrap wood (to place under the pennies as you drill, you don’t want any holes in your table)

Hammer

Crafting Pliers (and split ring pliers)

6mm and 9mm split rings

1 Key chain

Step 1: Lay all of your pennies face up and pound the letters LUCKY into them. It took me a few practice pennies to figure our how i wanted the letters to be placed. I started the ‘L’ underneath the ‘liberty’ and swooped the letters down, following the shape of the penny which led me to finish on the date. I found it is easiest to do on concrete.

Step 2: Place the pennies on a piece of scrap wood, and drill one hole into the top of the penny, i tried to get as close to the edge as possible. Be careful because the metal scraps that come out of the penny may look like innocent silver spirals, but are actually weapons in disguise, waiting to cut you… ;(

Step 3: Loop a 6mm split ring into the holes of all of your pennies (I used 12 pennies for my key chain)

Step 4: Attach three of your pennies (the ones from step 3) onto a 9mm split ring. (you should have a total of 4 larger split rings with three pennies attached if you did it like me.)

Step 5: Attach the split rings from step four together. I placed empty split rings in between as spacers so it was not as bulky.

Step 6: Attach to a key chain 🙂

I hope those directions made sense, it takes time and patience to make this keychain, so choose a rainy day. 🙂

Stay tuned for more penny projects and the best of luck to you!

-Ziggy

Leave a Reply

